Love you

I love Valentine’s Day because I love flowers, candy, and the colors pink and red. I don’t care that it’s a Hallmark-holiday. It’s fun with or without a partner. Obviously we should all show our love and appreciation daily, but sometimes we forget. If you are in a relationship: don’t fuck Valentine’s Day up. Make a card and get some flowers and be a hero; it’s that simple. If you’re not romantically involved then don’t let Hallmark get  you down! Love yourself. I buy myself flowers weekly. I realized how satisfying it is to treat myself instead of waiting for someone else to. I like to celebrate Galentine’s Day with my lady friends who I love more than anything. If your friends are all going on dates then eat take-out naked. This fake holiday can be enjoyed in a multitude of ways.

I sandwiched butter cookies with ganache and pomegranate jelly. I’m currently having a relationship with ganache. I can’t give you the recipe because it’s going to make me rich one day.

 

It’s also my day off from work so I made quiche with chard, turkey bacon, manchego, and parmesan. The last time I tried to make quiche it was a disaster so I am happy.

 

Quiche (adapted from Real Simple)

Ingredients:

1 pie crust

4 large eggs

1/2 cup cream

7 oz cheese, grated

1 oz sour cream (heaping tbsp)

4 slices turkey bacon, cut into pieces

1 cup swiss chard, cut into pieces

nutmeg

salt & pepper

Preparation: For the crust I adapted a King Arthur recipe by using butter only. Roll out the crust, place in pie dish. Place a layer of foil on the crust and weigh it down with rice or beans then bake for 10-15 minutes in 375 degree oven. In skillet cook the turkey bacon over medium-high heat. Remove bacon from the pan and cook the chard in remaining grease, add salt & pepper. In a large bowl mix eggs, cheese, sour cream, cream, nutmeg, chard, turkey bacon, salt & pepper. Pour into pre-baked crust and bake for 45 minutes (until knife comes out clean). Serve at room temperature.

3 thoughts on “Love you

  1. I am in a relationship with an ice cream machine; may you be as happy as we are. And your quiche looks delish. Happy Galantine’s Day!!!

Leave a Reply

