Drink in the New Year

Announcement: I am starting sommelier school at the end of the month.

What is a sommelier and what do they do? A sommelier is a wine steward. Sommeliers are typically responsible for wine service, creating wine lists for restaurants, and pairing wine with food.

I have been drinking wine since I was a baby. When my brother and I were kids we drank wine at the dinner table (first mixed with water and later straight-up). In my adult life I thoroughly enjoy a glass of red after work. Even though I am familiar with and appreciate wine I know little about it. I don’t know much about how wine is grown, processed, or stored. I can’t taste delicate notes of blackberry, leather, or dust in a glass of cab. Hopefully sommelier school will help me to develop my palate for drinking and eating (allowing me to identify more subtle flavors).

My wine education began this weekend in Sonoma. I went to Gundlach Bundshu and its sister winery, Bartholomew Park Winery. At Gundlach Bundshu I did the “Classic Tasting” of four estate wines for $5. Bartholomew was cool because their wines are only available at the vineyard; they also had a small and slightly boring museum. All in all it was a lovely little day trip. Wine country is just as beautiful as I had imagined.

One thought on “Drink in the New Year

Leave a Reply

