Pizza dough

I like to make my own pizza dough. I have a KitchenAid and use a dough hook and rapid rise yeast. You can do it with a food processor or by hand. If you don’t feel like it or don’t have time buy it pre-made. Most grocery stores carry pizza dough; if not, go to the nearest pizza place and ask to buy some (this flatters them). Grilled pizza is my favorite but I don’t own a grill so I use an oven. If you have a grill: shape your dough, brush lightly with oil, grill one side, flip over, then add desired toppings.

I use Barbara Kingsolver’s pizza dough recipe. In Animal, Vegetable, Miracle she talks about how relieved she is that her family makes pizza every Friday and no one has to think about what’s for dinner. My family ordered pizza in every Friday and so I feel bonded to this recipe.

For this batch I added dried fennel seeds to the dough (you can use any herb you like). I skipped the sauce and topped it with ricotta, anchovies, fennel fronds, garlic, crushed red pepper, oregano, and a drizzle of balsamic.

 

Pizza dough:

(adapted from Barbara Kingsolver’s recipe)

3 tsp yeast

1½ cups warm water

3 tbs. olive oil

1 tsp. salt

4 1/2 cups white flour

tbsp dried fennel seeds

Preparation: dissolve the yeast into the warm water and add oil and salt to that mixture. Put flour and fennel seeds in mixer with dough hook attachment and add liquid ingredients while the machine is running. Mix until just combined. Let dough rise in lightly oiled bowl covered with a towel for 30 to 40 minutes.

Shape dough and place on lightly oiled baking sheet. Top with whatever. Bake in 450 degree oven for about 30 minutes or until crust is golden brown.

One thought on “Pizza dough

  1. I watched my friend make Ellio’s frozen pizza this weekend, it looked disgusting. I told him to make his own from scratch, he didn’t like that idea because he’s lazy. We agreed buying dough already made from a pizza place was meeting in the middle. My point here is no one should be eating Ellio’s frozen pizza.

Leave a Reply

