Prep

Tomorrow I have dinner guests. I am working tomorrow so I’ve prepped everything ahead of time. I washed and cut butter lettuce and put it in my prettiest (and only) wooden bowl. I cut sweet potatoes and put them in water. Soaking potatoes in cold water does something with starch and makes them more crisp and delicious. I wrapped figs in bacon and skewered them with toothpicks. I skewered them because the bacon was thick-cut, otherwise you can just put them cut side down. The chicken parts are double-bagged and resting comfortably in their marinade (which I hope doesn’t suck because it was impulsive). I also made apple frozen yogurt. I am trying to like frozen yogurt but I don’t, I just don’t. It got the roommate seal of approval and so it will be served.

Also, I quit my second job today at a catering company. Working seven days a week became overwhelming. Today, I was going to learn how to amount for food per person at the market. I should have stayed for that lesson. I amounted wrong for this dinner and have too much food but more free time.

Chicken marinade:

1 cup white wine (again, from roommate)

1 cup yogurt

pinch cinnamon

generous pinch saffron

about a tspn cumin

salt & pepper

juice of 1 lemon

tbsp honey

a few cloves garlic, minced

Apple frozen yogurt:

1 4oz container greek yogurt

1/2 cup vanilla sugar

some cinnamon

2 golden apples

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp honey

Preparation: Melt butter in a skillet and saute the apples with cinnamon and honey. Put in a big bowl and  let cool. Add remaining ingredients. Chill for awhile or overnight. Make in ice cream machine. Enjoy, or not.

 

Revision: soaking sweet potatoes was a bad idea. They turned to mush so I made them into soup (which was fantastic).

One thought on “Prep

  1. You are part jew and therefore obligated to make too much food – don’t fight it. As for frozen yogurt, not a fan either but when you make one that YOU like, let me know.

Leave a Reply

