Thankful

In my first year of college I met my best friends. Rachael and I met in a writing class. At first I hated her for no good reason, then we became soul-mates. Breetel and I met through an ex-boyfriend. He and I broke up but Breetel and I stayed together. These women make me a better person and without their love and support life would be impossible.

So, when Rachael told Breetel and me that she was joining us in San Francisco we decided to celebrate with a feast. Nothing says home like Thanksgiving. We couldn’t find cranberries so we made a cherry sauce. We couldn’t find a suitable bird so we made pork. Some dishes turned out better than others but it was more about being together like the real holiday.


Cherry Sauce:

frozen cherries

stout

1/4 cup sugar

nutmeg

cinnamon

cloves

ginger

Put cherries in a saucepan and cover with stout. Add spices and sugar. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cook for awhile to let the booze burn off. Taste to adjust seasoning and do not be afraid to get heavy-handed with the spices. The stout was from a left over bottle of Lagunitas but paired nicely with the flavor of the dark cherries. Make this. Put it on everything.

Pork Shoulder:

boneless pork shoulder

yellow onion

celery

sage

red wine

salt & pepper

Put meat in roasting pan. Rub with sage, salt & pepper. Pour some wine over it- Breetel used a left over quarter of a bottle. Roughly chop the vegetables and throw them in the pan. Cook in 400 degree oven covered with foil. Breetel, my roommate and sous chef, put it in the oven while I was at work. This piece of meat was about 2.7 lbs. We cooked it for just under two hours and let it rest. It was overcooked for my taste. Oh well.

Classic Stuffing:

baguette

celery, diced

yellow onion, diced

mushrooms, sliced

butter

sage

salt & pepper

chicken stock

Cut bread into cubes. Put in large bowl and set aside. Saute vegetables over medium heat in large skillet with butter, sage, salt & pepper. Add them to cubed bread. Add stock to bread and vegetables- enough to make it moist. Pour into butter baking dish. Bake four about an hour at 400 degrees (with pork). The stuffing was underdone for my taste. Honestly, I’ve got a funky oven and could really use a thermometer.

Pumpkin Ice Cream and Ginger Cookie Sandwiches

For the pumpkin ice cream I adapted a recipe from David Lebovitz (the king of ice cream). The only difference was I ommitted the liquor, did not measure spices, and substitutes molasses and white sugar for the dark brown.

For the ginger cookies I adapted a recipe from allrecipes.com (for the people, by the people). I also did not measure spices- I cannot be bothered. I used butter- margarine is something I don’t do. I rolled them in vanilla sugar because I could.

Here’s the whole feast complete with a taco truck Rachael brought from LA…

Something else you should know: I made brussels sprouts that were inedible. I prepared them very simply with butter, pecans, salt & pepper. Even though they looked great, they were rotten and tasted a thousand years old. I served a mixed green salad instead. Losing my pecans was tragic but these things happen. Let it go.

3 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Oh my goodness it was so wonderful to be greeted by hot, delicious food! I am so thankful to have you in my life too! You are the sweetest, thank you again.

  2. Love the writing…but where are the vegetarian ideas…poor Lauren moved back in with us.

    Hope everything is well.

    It was a treat to see your mom…actually she is across the table right now.

Leave a Reply

